YouTube and privacy – don’t forget to save!

During a couple of recent sessions exploring YouTube (thanks to all who came, I thought they were great fun and very productive) we made some quick videos and had a go at uploading them onto YouTube. To avoid any blushes, participants were encouraged to set the videos to Unlisted or Private, meaning that only those who had the link or only the owner of the video was supposed to be able to see them.

A word of warning: if you do change your privacy settings, or any of your other video details  for that matter, make sure you click the Save button at the top or bottom of the page. If you don’t, your changes won’t be applied and you may wind up like a colleague friend of mine who found that she had inadvertently attracted a number of views to a video she was not happy to be released and e-mail contact from a blast from the past  she would rather have stayed in the past!

Click the Save button to make sure changes are applied to your video.

Click the Save button to make sure changes are applied to your video.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s